The Word Works Washington Prize

I don’t normally agree to post press releases on my blog, but since I am on the board of The Word Works, I of course am making an exception.


the word works

For More information, contact Karren [at] wordworksbooks [dot] org

The Washington Prize, a Good Place for Your Poetry Manuscript

The Washington Prize is a $1500 poetry manuscript award that includes book publication and distribution to all American and Canadians entrants writing in English. A three-tiered reading process provides comments to those interested entrants whose manuscripts are semi-finalists or finalists. Many Washington Prize entrants who have received these comments have gone on to win book publication.

Send 48- to 64-page manuscripts between January 15 to March 15, 2013, inclusive.

We accept original and unpublished manuscripts electronically or in paper. We are looking for the best manuscript with no restraint on subject matter or style. Follow the submission manager guidelines for electronic entries. All manuscripts are read blind without identifying information.

Use professional standards for font choice and size. Do not include images.

Entry fee is $25 US drawn on a US bank only, made payable to The Word Works. Payment through the electronic submissions process uses Paypal.

Winner will be selected by August 30, 2013. Book publication is planned for January 2014. Winner receives over 100 books plus review copies.

For paper submissions, use a binder clip to fasten the manuscript. Manuscripts will be recycled. Follow website guidelines.

Visit and look for the “Online Submissions” option under “The Washington Prize or snail mail to:

Nancy White, Washington Prize
Dearlove Hall, SUNY Adirondack
640 Bay Road
Queensbury, NY 12804

One thought on “The Word Works Washington Prize”

  1. Maybe some folks are wondering who has been a winner of The Washington Prize? Enid Shomer was our first winner who had a book published in our competition.

    Here is her bio:
    A widely published fiction writer and poetry, Enid Shomer is the author of seven books, most recently the novel The Twelve Rooms of the Nile (Simon & Schuster, 2012, published globally in English). Her work has been collected in more than fifty anthologies and textbooks, including POETRY: A Harper Collins Pocket Anthology, Best American Poetry, and New Stories from the South: The Year’s Best.

    Four of her books have been awarded major prizes. For Imaginary Men she received the Iowa Fiction Prize as well as the LSU/Southern Review Prize, both given annually for the best first collection of short fiction by an American author. She received the Gold Medal in Fiction from the State of Florida for Tourist Season (Random House, 2007), and the Washington Prize for Stalking the Florida Panther (The Word Works). Other awards include two fellowships in poetry from the National Endowment for the Arts, three fellowships from the State of Florida, the Eunice Tietjens Prize from Poetry, the Celia Wagner Award of the Poetry Society of America, the Randall Jarrell Prize, Wildwood Prize, Eve of St. Agnes Prize, the H.E. Frances Prize, the Iowa Woman Prize, the Emily Clark Balch Prize from Virginia Quarterly Review, the Glenna Luschei Award from Prairie Schooner, and the Guy Owen Poetry Prize from Southern Poetry Review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *